Understanding Colour- How Colours Interact

We were told today to create sheets of paper painted with the colours we’d made in the previous sessions, along with a few black, and mid-greys. We didn’t know what these were for until we started talking about the books “Interaction of Colour” by Josef Albers and “The Elements of Colour”  by Johannes Itten. They’re about how colour is perceived differently when it is placed next to different colours.

colours1

So we went back and made out own colour combinations. I don’t think mine worked quite as well, but in photos I think they work a lot better for some reason?

DSC_0207

We also looked at how when you place a colour in front of grey, you can see a kind of halo of the complimentary around it. I had serious trouble seeing it! But everyone else seemed to be able to see it so.

As interesting as this session was, I’m not sure how I’d apply it to my subject work.



Leave a comment